• how much should a basenji puppy eat quantity wise…is there a chart or rule of thumb based on pounds or weeks old?

right now...my 8 week old eats about 1.5cups a day...she doesn't seem to eat more than that..I also keep her bowl with about a cup of food in it all the time as I don't know if she is eating enough....

• What kind of food are you feeding her? Assuming it is a dry food, that sounds like lots. Personally I don't agree with free feeding. Better to have set mealtimes and pick up any food she hasn't consumed in ten or fifteen minutes. A pup will need at least three feedings a day, four might be better. An adult IMO should have two feedings. If you are feeding dry, be sure she has access to clean water at all times.

• yeah, its dry food…I always make sure her water bowl is always full...but I do take it away an hr before bed (taking her out right before bed), is this a good idea?

I feed her eukanuba puppy chiot small breed (good stuff?)

• I'm no expert on dry food. I feed NRG dehydrated. I'm sure others will weigh in on their favourites. Many people restrict water around bedtime. Again, I never have, but I'm a light sleeper and always took my pups out if they got restless in the night. My adult Basenjis have never had issues with going all night. My current boy will easily last 12 hours between trips outside! (he likes to sleep in) 🙂

• What I would suggest, based on our own experience and literature:

• 4 meals a day up to 12 weeks; after that 3; 2 for adults;
    • offer a serving for about 10 minutes, then take it away;
    • puppy food up to 7 months, then adult food;
    • 25 grams average per day for 1 kg of body weight; for adults 10 grams per kg; all depending on individual requirements and type of food.

• I don't and have not for a very long time fed puppy food, from the time my babies are starting solid food, it is adult food, the same as the adults. If you are using a good quality food there is no need for a puppy formula, IMO.