• First Basenji's

i'm not new to forums but i am new to this one. it has taken me a year or so to actually pull the trigger on getting a Basenji and now I'm half way there. My name is Adam, my new BFF will be Kenji (Ken-GEE) and I'm living with my lovely girl-friend Rachel. We are very excited for Kenji, the very handsome long paw tri-color Basenji, to come home. We have had plants before, so I think we are ready for a dog, HAHA :D. Just water and sunlight right, HAHA. But in all seriousness I'm just introducing myself to the "community" and look forward to spending long nights on here franticly looking for answers :D.

I do have one question; i know i have a lot of loose articles of clothing, books, some wires, remotes, towels and shoes. But what is the one thing that your B(s) have got into that you did not expect? Is there ever a "Basenji Proof" home?

• foam mattress bed… 😑 hmm

everything else is fine, couch, curtains etc.. just the damn bed if it doesnt have a sheet on it. Random huh?

btw welcome to the group 🙂 goodluck with your B to be, where are you getting him from?

• Welcome to the forum, I can't recall anything that some Basenji wouldn't chew! You may be lucky and get a non-chewer but I think these may be few and far between. Our home has always been Basenji-proof UNTIL one comes along who proves that it isn't after all!!!!

• My home is totally Basenji-proof–as long as the Basenji is in her crate or being watched. She's not destructive per se--more curious. She has laid waste to one slipper. I was warned that she had a terrycloth fetish. I FAILED to remove the slipper from harm's way. 🙂 Oh well. It's just a slipper. I needed a new pair anyway.

• @Arwen:

I FAILED to remove the slipper from harm's way. 🙂 Oh well. It's just a slipper. I needed a new pair anyway.

This is a mantra of many basenji slaves. It's nice to have new stuff, even if it's only for a short time. 🙂