• Banned

Hello,

My name is Jerome. I'm located in Essex county, New Jersey. I just got my puppy this past Saturday. He is a Basenji and his name is Kane. He is 10 weeks old today and was born on December 18, 2019. I think he is having separation anxiety from his litter mates and now myself. I'm sure the change of homes doesn't help either. I thought I was prepared but I'm realizing that I was sadly mistaking. I've had dogs growing up but I was not the one who trained/socialized/desensitized them so this is my first time. I would love to enroll he and myself in puppy classes and would also like some info on puppy kindergarten as I do work 8-10 hours per day. I'm open to an in home trainer as well. I'm out of the house from 6 am to 430 or 630 pm for work. My mother does live with me so she has no problem looking after Kane so long as she doesn't have work. I would prefer he be at "school" though to lay down some base training and proper socialization/desensitization. I tried crating him at night but gave up on that since one of the major reasons I got a dog was to have by my side whenever I'm home. Aside from the screaming for over an hour (enough to make me cringe and my neighbors to think I'm sacrificing animals) I think being in the crate at night is too much with him also spending time in the crate when no one is home. During the day I'm doing one to two hour incriments (with toys and treats) starting today. He was on 3 meals per day from the breeder and she said that he was a fussy eater from the get go. I got him home and he would only eat two meals for two days. The past two days he only ate dinner. I'm fine with one meal per day as long as he is getting the proper nutrients. He doesn't have any interest in toys or treats, only humans. All he wants to do is sit with you and sleep. If he isn't sitting next to you, he's whining at your feet. All insight is greatly appreciated. I hope I'm in the right place and look forward to hearing back from everyone.