• My little boy Ripley is almost 4 months old. I think it would be really fun to do agility with him (and would help keep me active!), but I didn't know when would be the best time to start working with him on it.

Also, if anyone knows of any agility stuff going on in east/central Indiana or the Indy area, I would love to know! I've never done this before!

• It's very important to first start with obedience. Here in the Netherlands small dogs have to be over 12 months and the larger breeds have to be 18+ months to start agility.

• We are in puppy obedience class right now, and I'm definitely going to continue with another class afterwards becaue he is pretty stubborn… haha

• Good for you, agility is a lot of fun. 🙂 Yes, lots of obedience work is the foundation for agility, especially at that age. Also I would focus more on socialization too, making sure Ripley is exposed to lots of different people and objects and locations.

I wouldn't think about doing any jumping until he's close to a year old. You'll need some decent control off leash, and a fairly reliable recall. Do lots of name recognition and attention exercises. You can teach him some turning maneuvers, like learning left vs. right, all at home. He will also need to be able to do a sit-stay and down-stay when learning the table exercise later. Even though jumping isn't good on a growing dog, you can work on introducing some of the other obstacles. You can purchase a small kiddie play tunnel and he can learn to run through that. Lots of confidence building around different obstacles will help. And he can begin to learn weave poles early on.