• Hi Everyone I am studying to be a dog behaviourist in the UK and have been given the project of studying Basenjis. I am now really in love with them! I wondered if any of you knew of a Basenji that had carried out an heroic act, saved someone or another animal etc., or was famous for something? It would be brilliant to include this in what I am writing on the breed. Thank you so much in advance for your helpx

• Great work. There are far too few dog people with any knowledge about the race. I don't know of a heroic basenji, but you could try and find the movie 'Goodbye, my Lady' about a boy and his b. Also former Dutch queen Juliana had a basenji in the 70's: http://www.jambojamilah.de/jambo/basenjiindenmedien/sonstigebasenjiberichte/index.html. If you google 'koningin Juliana Zara basenji' you will find more pictures. Good luck!

• Oh man, there would have been the perfect website for you. About 10 years ago those who were on the old B-list (which is actually still in existence) were collecting inspiring Basenji stories of exactly what you are looking for. A website with these stories was created for a B-lister who was battling cancer but apparently the Geocities-hosted website is no longer in existence. There were some really pretty amazing, and special stories. I'll see what I can round up for you.
    -Joanne

• Thank you both so much! I will follow the link now and really hope you will be able to locate some stories that I can share with people. Whilst Basenji is a breed recognised by the Kennel Club in the UK, there aren't many people seen with them so it will be a great way to help people see the breed. Thank youx

• @kjdonkers GoodBye my Lady is such a great show!! A tear jerker for sure but great!! You can find this movie on YouTube. I can't get to the link at the moment.

• This post is deleted!

• This post is deleted!

• Oh wow this is brilliant thank you so much! I am going to sit down and watch this later on...thank youxxxxx