• Hello. I'm looking to buy a basenji and I'm have troubles finding a breeder in Alberta, preferably near the Edmonton area. Does anyone have a basenji and if so, where did you buy from? I'm very interested in the breed and would like to start the process ASAP!

Thanks!:)

• Hey Brianne,
    I'm from Edmonton, too, and I researched the breeders that I found close to home, and I was left pretty unsatisfied… When I do get my Basenji, I'll be buying from a breeder out of province... have you considered looking into breeders from further away? I'm no expert, just a fellow Edmontonian who is interested in B's.
    The BCOC has a list of registered breeders - good place to start. 🙂 Welcome to the forum!!
    http://www.basenjiclubofcanada.com/BCOC-BreedersDirectory.html

• Thanks! I was thinking about that too. Are you talking about getting a pup shipped to you or traveling to the other province to get him/her?

I had a couple worries about that.. If I got the pup shipped, would the personalities mesh? My friends dog had a littler of pups about 6 months ago and I spent a lot of time with them and they are all so different, you can really get a bond with just one.

And if I were to travel there, would the drive back be too long with a puppy? And I wouldn't want to risk flying and have to "store" my pup on the plane.

Any suggestions? Or what were your plans? 😕

• I have both shipped and travelled to get a pup. The suitability of the pups to my household was never an issue with either. I was very honest and very descriptive about my household and expectations and the breeder who knows the pups the best, did a wonderful job of matching the puppy to my household. Even with people who live nearby and visit frequently, it is the breeder who selects the puppy for the person because they know them best and that behavior that seems "cute" in an hour visit may be the completely unlivable in your household on a daily basis.