• Hello Basenji forums!

I recently got injured on the job and found myself out of work for several months. Then I saw someone walk by my local convenience store walking a little baby boy basenji! I used to work as a groomers assistant so I recognized the breed right away. He was the cutest, most intelligent looking little pup and it made me realize I finally had plenty of time on my hands to raise a good dog, and a barkless dog would not bother my landlord too much. So I looked up a basenji breeder in montreal and went to see the pups! The breeder had 11 week olds as well as two 8 month olds who had been spoken for by someone who never came back for them.

Very soon I was home with my new red and white best buddy Zenu. (Tagati's Lone Codebreaker) She was one of the 8 month olds and already crate trained and housebroken and finished with all the teething and such. She is totally amazing, and very calm and quiet for a basenji! Even when she went through her first heat she was pretty good. Now she is 10 months old and is an absolute pleasure to hang out with.
    Since i have so much free time I have been spending a lot of time with her and training her. Now she knows her Sit, Lie Down, Come, Back Up, Inna Crate, "Go Go Go", Get It, Drop It, and Wait. We are working on heeling and sitting when we stop walking on heel (she does tend to pull but not as bad as when I first got her, after lots of practice) and we're working on Give Paw, Roll Over, Stand Up, and Bang Bang, You're Dead! Her favorite toys are a rawhide ball, a stuffed panda, and my slippers.

I got a kitten at the pet store to keep her company (the only kitten who wasnt trying to scratch her face off) and they play nicely together and sleep next to each other. Every time Zenu and I come home from a walk the kitty greets me and then rubs his face all over Zenu and gives her kisses and lies next to her. I think he thinks Zenu is his mom 😉