Sick African Basenji, no vet access. Insight appreciated!

• Hi all:

I have spent some time searching the web for insight into my dog (Zoe) 's health problems and I came across this forum. I would truly appreciate any help that readers have to offer!

I have been working in West Africa for a few years and adopted Zoe, who is now 3 1/2. She is 'local breed', and while her ears and tail are a different than American Basenjis, I assume they have common ancestors. As I stated in the post title, there are no true vets in any sort of manageable distance from where I live. Alas, there are very few human doctors in the entire country. This was never a problem for Zoe in the past, as the local health services provided rabies vaccines for dogs, and she was never sick.

About 5 months ago, and rather suddently, Zoe started experiencing weight loss and chronic diarrhea. I started increasing her food (meat, fish, etc.) and she maintained a somewhat normal weight for a while. Her diarrhea changed to 'soft stool' for some time. Then, in a foul turn of events, she began consuming her own stools, and maintained a voracious appetite. About a month ago, her diarrhea returned and she has since lost even more weight. Her stools contain a significant amount of oil, which can be almost orange in color. She continues to eat a substantial amount of food.

I've tried: less fiber, more fiber, withholding food, increasing food, de-worming tablets, and an antibiotic shot, to no avail. I have been planning to bring Zoe back to the US for some time now, but I fear that she won't make it another month until our return.

Any insight would be greatly appreciated! At this point, I'll try anything!

Thank you–