Help - will a male basenji fit in?

• I have never used a forum before - bear with me! To make a long story short - we lost our beloved 18 month old beagle/terrier mix girl Saturday. Her baby "sis" - our recently adopted 4 month old pit bull mix misses her terribly as much as us if possible. She is not eating much or playing. At her vet visit today I mentioned the loss to the Doc and told him we were thinking of adding a new baby to the household - just seems so empty without Molly.

He mentioned that there was a family who had a male basenji show up 1 1/2 months ago at their home in the country. They say he is a people person and wants to come in the house very bad but they don't do inside dogs. They have beagles fenced that they hunt with. The husband did not want to start feeding him but the wife took pity on the guy and has been feeding table scraps. He has killed the neighboring farms chickens - so he is becoming unwelcome. They have become attached to him but know he needs a good home where he can come in. The lady left work and drove me to the country to meet this guy who is a stunner let me tell you. It took him a minute to come over to me but when he did he nuzzled my face as I talked to him softly and gave him a good petting. Our baby girl Blondie was with me since she had just been to the vet and they sniffed each other politely - no aggression.

My question - I have never dealt with male dogs (he is intact - that would have to change). My girl will get spayed in Nov. when she is old enough.