PENNSYLVANIA Veterinary Disclosure Bill SB 768 http://www.legis.state.pa.us/CFDOCS/Legis/PN/Public/btCheck.cfm?txtType=HTM&sessYr=2011&sessInd=0&billBody=S&billTyp=B&billNbr=0768&pn=0782 has been filed by Senator Michael J. Stack and referred to the Senate Consumer Protection Committee. Please contact the Committe Chair Robert M. Tomlinson rtomlinson@pasen.gov (717) 787-5072 and ask his committee to vote that this bill "OUGHT TO PASS."

PERMISSION GRANTED TO CROSS-POST

All Committee members are listed below, if your Senator is on the list, please contact them as well as Senator Tomlinson.

Robert M. Tomlinson, Chair rtomlinson@pasen.gov (717) 787-5072
John R. Gordner, Vice-Chair jgordner@pasen.gov (717) 787-8928
Lisa M. Boscola, Minority Chair boscola@pasenate.com (717) 787-4236
John B. Scarnati jscarnati@pasen.gov (717) 787-7084
Edwin B. Erickson eerickson@pasen.gov (717) 787-1350
Stewart J. Greenleaf sgreenleaf@pasen.gov (717) 787-6599
Jeffrey E. Piccola jpiccola@pasen.gov (717) 787-6801
John C. Rafferty, Jr. jrafferty@pasen.gov (717) 787-1398
Kim L. Ward kward@pasen.gov (717) 787-6063
Mary Jo White mwhite@pasen.gov (717) 787-9684
Jim Ferlo ferlo@pasenate.com (717) 787-6123
Richard A. Kasunic (717) 787-7175
Timothy J. Solobay (717) 787-1463
John N. Wozniak wozniak@pasenate.com (717) 787-5400

**"Veterinarians May Have to Provide New Information to Clients" DVM Newsmagazine 5/1/11 http://veterinarynews.dvm360.com/dvm/Veterinary+news/Veterinarians-may-have-to-provide-new-information-/ArticleStandard/Article/detail/717884?contextCategoryId=44927

Text of SB 768 http://www.legis.state.pa.us/CFDOCS/Legis/PN/Public/btCheck.cfm?txtType=HTM&sessYr=2011&sessInd=0&billBody=S&billTyp=B&billNbr=0768&pn=0782

and (vi)

12
the veterinarian provides a client information sheet to the

13
owner of the animal in cases of dispensing prescription drugs

14
that will be administered by the owner in an outpatient setting.

15
(16) "Client information sheet" means a paper required by

16
the Center for Veterinary Medicine of the Food and Drug

17
Administration for the purpose of communicating important risk

18
information to clients and that is given to a veterinarian by a

19
prescription drug manufacturer so that owners of an animal are

20
provided with vital product safety information including

21
precautions, contraindications, signs of a possible adverse

22
reaction and steps to take in the event of an adverse reaction

23
to the prescription drug.**