• Hi, I am new to this…I really need some help! We have 3 basenji's. An 11 year old sweet male (who is blind) and 2 females. We rescued the older female when she was 6 mos. old...she's 10 now. We bought our 5 year old daughter a female basenji puppy last valentine's day. The older female and the puppy got along great...until the puppy got older. Now the older female wants to KILL her. And I mean kill. We have to keep them separated at all times. We probably should find the puppy a new home, but our daughter is so attached to her. We don't know what to do. I would hate to get rid of the older female...she really is a sweet dog (just not to the puppy!)
    Does anyone know anything about medication that would help? Like prozac for dogs? It is extremely stressful at our home. The other thing we are considering is a muzzle for both females so we can put them together. Thank you for any input!

• That's tough. I look forward to seeing other people's responses, but in my experience, once two B's "hate" eachother, there will be no reconciling between them–they must be kept separate.

Just out of curiousity: Was there a fight, or one initial confrontation that set these two off?

• I honestly don't know what happened. One day they were fine and the next that was it. We then tried to keep them together, and it would be good for a couple of weeks, then it would happen again. Just last week we were "switching" them from upstairs to downstairs and the puppy (she's 1 now) took off after the older female. I really think she still wants to play. Well, they fought, and for the first time the older girl got a little injured and the puppy was fine. I got bit in the process of breaking it up. We are obviously worried about our child, although she knows to get away if there is any kind of scuffle.