• Hi all! I'm a basenji-less college student in Toledo, OH. I'm a mama to some Corgi boys right now and am not actively looking for a puppy, but rather a breeder. I've had a love of Basenjis for a long time but recently got back into looking into them because a friend is trying to find a puppy for her allergic daughter. The breed isn't right for her, but it re-ignited my passion for them. I'm not looking to add another pup to my family right now because aside from my Corgis, I foster for the humane society and Planned Pethood. I am, however, looking to find a breeder that I can get to know, so I can watch a few litters come and go. I don't plan on adding to the mix for 4 or 5 years, so I have quite a while, but I figure that the best thing for me to do is the find someone I truely respect and build a relationship with them so choosing a puppy will come easy. I also feel this is good for the breeder because it will give them the chance to get to know a potential adopter, which I can only assume would assuage the fear and worry a breeder must feel about giving away a puppy.

Here are my boys, Dexter and Edison.

• First Basenji's

Hi there,

I don't know any breeders (though I'm sure you'll get lots of great tips here). I just wanted to say welcome and coo a bit over your adorable boys. Great picture! Corgis were on our short-list of breeds to consider (no pun intended) because our Shiba has gotten along with every Corgi he's met, but that was before we found our Basenji.

• Lol, short list! I absolutely love my boys, but I have to be honest - I wish I had fostered a few more before deciding on the breed because I was not ready for the assault of fur, haha. I knew they shed, but I am constantly pulling their hairs out of pillows and rugs and everything else. I'd never part with them though; just like I put up with the snoring and herding, I accept the shedding as fact. 🙂