• so, do i have this process correct for fanconi testing?

1. register dog with phenome project (almost wrote 'phoneme' - you can tell i'm a teacher)
    2. fill out an order for testing kit on OFA site

question - does the dog need to be already registered with AKC before you begin this process, or is that irrelevant?

thanks!

• @tlish:

so, do i have this process correct for fanconi testing?

1. register dog with phenome project (almost wrote 'phoneme' - you can tell i'm a teacher)

question - does the dog need to be already registered with AKC before you begin this process, or is that irrelevant?

thanks!

That is correct and it would be good to have him/her registered so that the AKC number is listed. Does not have to be registered, as we have lots of rescues on there where the parentage is not known, but again, it is good to make sure your dog is registered if you have the proper paperwork

• This test will give you an idea of what to expect re fanconi. Good for you for getting it done. I will be happy to hear the results, when you get them.

• Actually you don't HAVE to register with the project, but it is helpful if you do IF you have parentage. They told me if you don't know the dog's pedigree (assuming you aren't planning to BREED a dog with unknown pedigree) it doesn't really matter if you register or not but they appreciate it.

• i do have her pedigree, and i never, never, never in my life plan on breeding. i've never had an intact dog - i'm a 'just for a pet' person, so no reason to deal with all the extra risk and hassle that intact dogs entail.