• First, let me say I'm not a pro rescuer, or anything close to it. I respect anyone who is able to devote the kind of time and patience it takes to rehabilitate dogs in need. Now, on to the stories:

#1: AJ

I drive truck for a living and always thought it was cruel to take a dog on a truck. (Now I eat my words.) But anyway, I was teaming with a guy whose ex-wife had too many dogs and the city was coming down on her. AJ was the eldest in the pack, but is neutered, so can't show. (I think it's ridiculous, but that's a political thing with AKC that I won't get into.) He was fighting with the show dogs to maintain his place in the pack and seemed to be the center of trouble in the house, so she was talking about having AJ put down for all the fighting.
    Since my grandmother used to raise Basenji, I understand the breed and didn't have the heart to let him be put down. I gave him a shot at being a truck dog. He is one of the most affectionate dogs I've ever known and became my little Velcro buddy. When I went back to solo driving, AJ came with me.
    I changed companies and had to leave him with some friends for about a week. While I was away, my friends told me he laid around being bummed out the whole time. He would play, but only half-heartedly for a short period then go lay down and pout. When I walked into the house to get him, he jumped all over both couches, singing his heart out, wagging his tail and just beside himself. That really makes a person feel good, eh? I took him out to the new truck and he tried to climb in himself to check it out. He basically told me the road is his home, now, and it's what makes him happy. So, here we are, trucking the USA and I'm eating my words.

#2 Melody