• I am new to dog ownership and new to using forums.

Our daughter has two purebred Basenji boys who are now 8 and 9 so I had granddogs before I was a grandmother. She has voluntered with BRAT for several years so from time to time she forwards links to Basenji's that have needed homes. My cats died at the ages of 17 and 18 several years ago and recently I just felt I really wanted a dog so the search began.

My heart has been to be that forever home that some rescued or abandoned dog might need. I received a link from my daughter about a little female basenji that a nice family had rescued off the streets of Nashville, turned over to BRAT and that needed surgery for a severely broken leg. I kept up with what was going on but didn't give it much more thought. I am one of those who doesn't throw away their emails and I would revisit the one about Bella and inquire how she was doing. Then she showed up on the BRAT website ready to be adopted. She seemed like a good fit in most areas but not in others. Memorial Day weekend I was visiting my daughter and she convinced me I should go meet her and I did. I came back home and told my husband about her and asked if I could have a dog. A week ago this Sunday Bella came home to her new life.

She didn't end up being a purebred but a mix with what we are not sure maybe a boxer. She loves kids so she fits in perfectly with my 2 year old and 4 year old grandsons that I keep 3 days week. She gets a little too excited sometimes and we will be trying obedience training at our local PetSmart.

I look forward to reading everyones life with a Basenji or mix and gaining some insights.

• Hello! Nice to meet you fellow new basenji owner! And a basenji/ mix owner at that.

I'm sorry to hear about your cats, but at 17 and 18 I'm sure they lived a long healthy and happy life. I'm sure you'll do great with a basenji too. 🙂

Good luck with Bella's obedience training.

• Welcome! Great to hear you got Bella. We'd love to see some pictures.