• Hell to everyone–

I'm new to the site and to Basenjis as well. However, I am in the process of trying to find the perfect basenji to be my new companion! From everything I've read of the breed they sound like wonderfully fascinating creatures. In terms of a little information about myself I am a journalism major at Gonzaga University which is in Eastern Washington State. I have always had dogs in my life--they're very important to me, it wasn't until I came to university that I was without a canine companion. Now, though that I have the ability to get a dog again, I am doing everything in my power to make that happen.

Basenji's currently are on number one on my list, although I have never owned one, I have been doing a copious amount of research and reading up on the breed--and even their not so wonderful qualities sound slightly...endearing to me. Since I am new to the breed I did have a few questions that I posted in a the "New Puppy Section" along with a brief replica of the above introduction. If anyone could help me out I would be thrilled!

I look forward to getting to know some of you!

• Welcome to the forum….

One thing first off... Basenjis DO shed... so if that is a deal breaker, you need to know that... while usually not as much as some other breeds and usually only once a year... the are NOT shedless... (is that a word)....

Also when in a multi household.. people that are living there need to understand with a Basenji it is important that they learn to pick up after themselves.. or it will be gone.. especially underwear... or anything with a crotch.. they might have the rest of the article of clothing.. but the crotch will be gone... And add to that since Basenjis are a sighthound.. open doors are a no-no... or going out the door before checking "where is the Basenji".... they are quick like a fox to beat you to the open door... If they want to protect their "stuff" they need to pick up, put away.... or keep doors shut