• Hi all! I'm new to this. My name is Brian Moore. My wife and I are looking to adopt a dog and are doing our fair share of research. We've settled on a Basenji. We have 2 Basenji's where I work and I love them. I've filled out the adoption paperwork on the BRAT site and am waiting for them to get back to me. So far they've sent me Basenji mixes. I'd really like a full breed Basenji or at least a Basenji/Chihuahua mix as I am allergic to most other breeds.

Can anyone help me out? The perfect timing for me would to get a Basenji the week of Thanksgiving - Nov 22ndish. I plan on taking the dog to work a few days a week but I'd like to spend a full week at home with him/her before that.

Please let me know what you all think or if anyone can help.

Thanks.

Sincerely,

Brian Moore

• I'm sure others will have detailed answers, but my first off my head suggestions are:
    http://www.petfinder.com - enter in Basenji and just see what it spits out. Often if you really fall in love with a dog, you can maneuver a way to get it to you. There are always a few purebreds.

http://www.basenji.org/PUBLIC/BreederDirectory.htm
    Check the local breeders listings.

Medfly is far - but is a excellent group outside of BRAT. One requirement is you go to CA.. www.basenjirescue.com

• If you don't hear back from the BRAT folks in a day or so, let me know and I will see what I can do for you.
    We have many b's in rescue that need homes.
    We welcome folks who are interested in rehoming a basenji.

• Thank you very much. BRAT has been sending me Basenji mixes and I'm a little leary because I am allergic to most breeds. I'd really like a pure breed or Basenji/Chihuahua mix. I've checked out Petfinder and I've contacted a few shelters in Virginia but they only work with people in that area.

I would love to help you out and rescue a Basenji. I will keep looking on the BRAT website. Wish me luck.

Sincerely,

Brian Moore

• Did you get the Welcome letter back from BRAT yet?