• Hey Guys,
    I'm a newbie SoCal'er and I'm just getting acustomed to becoming a regular at the beach on the weekends. As I am a new lover of the beach and my basenji, I would like to combine the two.

When chilling and hanging out on the beach, i'd like to have my B, Kaylee, chilling right next to me, but would like to be able to go hands free, having her tied up so she doesn't go wondering.

Are there any "beach gadgets" out there that can dig into the sand that I can attach her leash and/or line to?

Let me know if you guys have any suggestions

• Digging into the sand can be done, I'm sure.

Basenji staying tied to anything vs chewing neatly through any leash ever invented…less likely, in my experience.

I'll be interested to hear what others say. We take our girl to the beach a lot, either to the fenced dog park at one beach or on a leash at another dog beach, and are looking forward to taking our new boy along today.

They're not inclined not inclined to be tied up in any location, though. In fact, my DH wrapped Figi's leash around a table at a restaurant patio last week. She sat neatly next to us the whole time, so we didn't realize until we stood up to leave that she had chewed the lead in half, probably right after we sat down :p

• I would probably just use a long training line (20 ft lead) w/ a carabeiner on the end, loop around a nice heavy solid rock and clip. or bring a cinder block w/ you as a B-anchor?… lol

dogs are allowed on the beaches there??? I'm so jealous!

• @BasenjiByTheBay:

Basenji staying tied to anything vs chewing neatly through any leash ever invented…less likely, in my experience.

LOL - so true! mine's done it to numerous leashes! in the blink of an eye too…

• As for the leashes

Lupinepet.com

1-800-228-WOLF

These people sell collars and leashes that are gaurenteed for life. If the pup chews it you get a new one no questions asked. Not even that much more expensive ours were

$12 - collar
    $15 - leash