• @Terry:

On the Fanconi List, we have had German Shepherds, Bichons, Westies, Cocker Spaniels, a Chinese Crested and even a cat! Terry

I don't disagree, Terry….in fact, there is human version of Fanconi syndrome. But in most other breeds (and other species) Fanconi is idiopathic, meaning not genetically inherited. It can be induced by outside factors, such as toxic exposure to certain elements. I believe that Norwegian Elkhounds are one of the other breeds where there is an inherited Fanconi syndrome like ours...but apparently it is not exactly like ours, from what I have been able to learn.

I do agree though, that it certainly can't hurt to test Basenji mixes.....and it certainly is important to get the word out that people should be testing every basenji, every month after age three.

• @Lenora:

Andrea, can you tell me what is a normal blood sugar range for a dog? I'm a nurse but don't know a thing about dog blood sugar!

Normal BLOOD glucose is about 70-138 for dogs. There is no such thing as normal URINE glucose. This should always be negative.

Yamaha ox99-11 history

• @Quercus:

But, in my opinion, and educated guess….it is virtually impossible for a dog that is half basenji or less to get Fanconi. The current understanding is it takes two basenjis that are carrying a gene/s for Fanconi to produce it in their offspring. So, *unless a Basenji mix has one parent that is full Basenji and one parent that is half or more Basenji, they shouldn't have the genetic combination that makes Fanconi.

I agree with Andrea….it is highly unlikely for a dog that is Basenji only on one half of its ancestry to develop Fanconi. That said, urine test strips are very affordable and there is certainly no harm in using them on a mix.

• Thanks for all the information! Although Hollie is a mix, I think I would prefer to be safe than sorry and start testing her when she is approximately three. I appreciate all the response and help.