• Hi everyone,

I am a masters student of Zoology with Animal Behaviour at Bangor University. My current research regards vocalisation behaviour in the domestic dog. I am struggling to find people to represent Basenjis in our research (currently have 4 individuals in our data) and found this forum! Basenjis are important for this study, as they not only possess incredibly unique vocalisations, but are genetically ancient compared to other breeds! I am unsure if asking people to complete my (entirely voluntary and anonymous) research questionnaire for their Basenji violates the 'advertising' rules for this forum. I can't find a higher contact to ask, so just thought I'd make a post and ask. Would posting the link to my questionnaire be violating this rule? I don't want to make anybody uncomfortable or cause trouble! I can provide full details of the questionnaire, including ethical approval by the university and anonymity-related information, though this is lengthy and doesn't seem appropriate for this first post.

Thank you for your help!

• Send a message directly to the admins of the Forums, admin@basenjiforums.com, to ask about posting a questionnaire for your research project as they don't personally check each Forum post. Next, go to Facebook where there are numerous Basenji groups. Most will allow you to post about your research project but it depends on the group's focus. I can give you a short list of Facebook groups to start with. Many of the Basenji groups are private so you will need to apply to join them. Always ask the admins directly (not in a post) if you can post your research project links. There is also a Basenji sub-Reddit group you can post your project to. My daughter founded the group so I know you can post the project there without issue, r/Basenji.