• I preach this now and then about keeping your B's teeth clean by daily brushing or at least 3x/wk. Here's an example why. I just adopted Paolo who is about 4-5 years old. Previous people did not take care of his teeth. Most teeth on the upper sides are gone, upper back molars are bad and lowers and light brown. I've been brushing daily for almost 2 months and they are getting better (breath too) but as I was brushing the back upper left, the below decayed tooth fell out on the couch. I'm using Virbac C.E.T. tooth paste.

Try and use the tooth brush to keep the teeth clean, saving yourself money and most importantly your Bs teeth and health. Bad teeth can lead to bad heath.
    attachment_t_14087_0_sam_0724.jpg

• Good lesson, thanks for the reminder! Also, it's funny because Oakley will be two and I was wondering if it's normal to get a cleaning done at this age. I admit I'm bad at brushing (getting better) but he also has naturally plaquey teeth…any thoughts on getting a cleaning at two? They aret bad but I want to keep up with them...especially the long canines and big back teeth

• First Basenji's

Oh my gosh! I would be so shocked if a decayed tooth just fell out… poor Paolo. I hope it wasn't causing him too much distress. 😞

I continue to struggle with Bowpi's dental issues, but I definitely took heed of your (collective) message the first time. Bowpi is still not great about toothbrushing -- her tongue is extremely FAST and she's adept at licking the toothpaste off the brush before I can even get it to her teeth -- but I do manage to get something done 2 or 3 times a week. She's already shown marked improvement since we adopted her (she's had one full dental with us, too) but her breath is still pretty bad most of the time. It's an ongoing issue. I wonder too how genetics plays a part.